top of page

5th Grade: Polar Regions & Tuck Everlasting

In this post: Arctic Fun, a Tuck Everlasting Ferris wheel, and Van Gogh's cat. Join us for a trip back to our 5th-grade studies!

Hello, Dear Ones! This is my 5th post for our 5th-grade studies from a couple of years ago. In geography, we learned about polar regions and in science, we learned about light. Our famous artist was Van Gogh and we made a nice craft for the book Tuck Everlasting. We did these studies in January of 2016. Here’s how we learned!



  • Winter Tree Art with snowflakes and Arctic Play Area with Igloo- Sometimes I look on foreign Pinterest pages for unique ideas. I combined two ideas (one is in Russian) for the snowflake tree from here and here.



The igloo is made with a down comforter and a DIY fort kit.

Here’s my post with our 5th-grade curriculum:


I love the snowflakes we made from paper doilies.





  • Stained Glass Polar Bears- Tissue paper and polar bear silhouettes on construction paper.



  • Splatter Paint Arctic Animals






  • Penguin Fun



  • A Winter PJ party at our homeschool group- Awwl, Michael was so cute in his PJs...no way he'd wear them in public now...my tall preteen. Hannah read the kiddos a winter story and we learned about snowflakes. Leeland played on his blanket.





“For some, time passes slowly. An hour can seem like an eternity. For others, there was never enough. For Jesse Tuck, it didn't exist.” Natalie Babbitt, Tuck Everlasting

"The first week of August hangs at the very top of summer, the top of the live-long year, like the highest seat of a Ferris wheel when it pauses in its turning. The weeks that come before are only a climb from balmy spring, and those that follow a drop to the chill of autumn, but the first week of August is motionless and hot. (Prologue.1)" - Tuck Everlasting

“But dying's part of the wheel, right there next to being born. You can't pick out the pieces you like and leave the rest. Being part of the whole thing, that's the blessing.” Natalie Babbitt, Tuck Everlasting



Tuck Everlasting is such a lovely story. I fell in love with the movie when I was a teenager. I think it's a great alternative to Twilight. The lead girl actually makes a wise decision about immortality. If you haven't seen Tuck Everlasting, I highly recommend it. Michael read the book first. The movie is family friendly, though a few scenes may be scary for small children.




This craft is based on the book which is read here:


Music- My heart melts as I reminisce over my guys playing music together. Leeland was so small! So far Leeland is my singer. He makes up songs on the spot so much that I feel like I"m living in a musical! Ha!









Exercise and Fun Out and About





Playtime!





Before the schoolhouse...



I was sad at first when the homeschool room changed into Leeland's room. Michael and I had so many memories in it. But now Leeland is at home there and I can't imagine him not being in that room. Plus, it's nice to get sleep every now and then. That was really hard when Leeland slept with us. I'm still planning on doing a big post on our schoolhouse. I'm way behind but the plan is there ;).



Modge Podge Fun





It was the year the river flooded!










We also tore down Terabithia so we could make room for the schoolhouse.





Though part of Terabithia stayed in the back yard until recently.



What a year of change!

God bless & remember the High King lives! ~Amber Dover

You can find more ideas here:

5th Grade Pinspiration

All of my 5th Grade Posts:




8 views0 comments
bottom of page