top of page

Life with Baby: Beach Art, St. Augustine, & St. Simon's Island

(August 2016)




In this post: Three beach crafts, and fun pics from Leeland's adventures at St. Augustine and St. Simon's Island. Also, meet Davy Jones and Ponce De Leon.

Hello, dear ones! Tonight I've got three beach crafts, two we did recently and one we did last year when Leeland was only 4 months old. I also have pictures from our trip to St. Augustine when Leeland was 4 months old. That was his first beach trip. Then we took two trips to St. Simon's Island after he was one. Before I share all those adventures I'll start with the crafts. The first craft was made at the beach using Leeland's footprint as a mould and adding seashells to plaster of Paris.





    • Sand Paper Sand Castles~ I cut sand paper into different shapes and I stuck magnets to the back of them. Michael (my ten year old) mainly played with this one.





  • Foot Prints in the Sand~ Inspiration from: http://www.craftymorning.com/footprints-sand-beach-canvas/ The statement comes from one of my favorite songs. I struggled making the water look like the ocean. It looks like the sky, but I still love this picture and how cute Leeland's foot prints are.


I hope you are inspired! More ideas: https://www.pinterest.com/doverette/summer-crafts/

Now, before I show the St. Augustine pictures I want you to meet two sea creatures we brought back from our trip: Davy Jones, the octopus, and Ponce de Leon, the sea turtle.



  • We stayed by the beach. What a lovely view!



  • Michael and I got up early the first morning and walked to the ocean. It was glorious! I was able to take beautiful photographs.



  • Leeland wasn't a big fan of the beach, but he did catch some sun!





  • We enjoyed touring the sites. We began with the Castillo De San Marcos.



  • Next, we visited The Pirate and Treasure Museum. We learned a lot and it helped us escape the heat. Did I mention it was hot, and my nose was running from allergies? Yes, I was quite miserable on this trip, but I'm glad we went anyways. I mean, we got our pictures taken with a pirate ;). How cool is that!




  • Then we had a tasty lunch at Burger Buckets.



  • We ended our day at Potter's Wax Museum, which was creepy fun!



  • We only had one full day to explore the city. The next morning on our way out, I ran in the rain to The Bunnery where I got breakfast. I also found a neat boho gypsy store.



  • The ride home was rough with a four-month-old because Leeland cried most of the way. He didn't travel well back then, but thankfully he's much better at traveling now! We spent half of the ride singing Bob the Builder to calm Leeland down. We did have a nice stop in Jacksonville, FL.



  • We visited Chamblin's Books.




  • We also enjoyed lunch by a fountain in the park.



Our trips to St. Simon's were while we visited family. St. Simon's isn't far from Jesup, Ga where I grew up. Our most recent trip was while Chris' dad was in the hospital. We stopped at the beach to give the kids a break from the hospital waiting room. This was July and the heat was awful. We didn't stay long but we did get a nice picture of the boys on the whale statue. I have pictures of me as a kid on this thing.




  • We were also near the lighthouse.



The first time Leeland went to St. Simon's we went with my Grandma. It wasn't long after my Grandpa passed and we wanted to get her out of the house. This was May and the weather was much better. It was still hot, but not July hot.



  • The boys had a good time with Grandma.



  • Leeland still didn't like the ocean, but he did enjoy the sand, licking reeds, and playing in his splash pool!



  • Chris and I enjoyed a stroll by ourselves. Grandma was a big help.



  • I even enjoyed the waves.



  • We were able to visit other family while there. Leeland watched Michael fish at Aunt Charlotte and Uncle Joe's.




  • We also saw Aunt Charlotte's bottle tree. I am so inspired to make my own!



I hope you enjoyed vacationing with us :). God bless & remember the High King lives! ~Amber Dover


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page